• +605 249 0500
  • enquiries@qiup.edu.my


About Faculty

Fully Accredited – MQA/FA/3618

Pharmacy is an evolving profession with a major shift towards patient care for the majority of graduates in pharmacy where the pharmacist’s role is in pharmacotherapy and the ensuring of the achievement of therapeutic end-points. We at QIU envision our graduates to be prepared for pharmacy practice, pharmaceutical industry including pharmaceutical quality assurance, community pharmacy, research and development of drugs and in pharmacy management.


  • To be a progressive and innovative leader in pharmaceutical education, research and in the development of quality pharmacy practitioners with a long-life learning mindset in Malaysia and beyond.


  • To prepare the students through a balanced programme of education to practice in hospitals and health centres, providing high quality pharmaceutical care; in the pharmaceutical industry in ensuring quality of medicines and in the community pharmacy in providing primary healthcare.
  • To nurture IT-proficient and committed pharmacy professionals.
  • To train knowledgeable pharmacists for effective communication with other healthcare professionals for the betterment of patients.
  • To inculcate high ethical standards and a “serve the community” mentality within pharmacy graduates.
  • To be committed towards training and capacity building of faculty and staff for attaining high standards of teaching and research excellence.
  • To inculcate a life-long learning mind-set.

Core Value

  • Integrity and Accountability
    We value professionalism, individual integrity, ethics and take ownership and responsibility for ensuring quality of practice.
  • Respect
    We extend respect to all persons irrespective of race, culture and creed.
  • Teamwork
    We seek to create an atmosphere for meaningful collaborations and relationships to ensure inclusiveness, adaptability and flexibility.
  • Innovativeness
    We encourage creativity to support innovation.
  • Excellence
    We strive to achieve, through continuous quality improvement, the highest quality and standards in all our endeavours.


Prof. Datuk Dr. Allan Mathews

Dean and Professor

E-mail: allan.mathews@qiup.edu.my
Area of Specialisation: Clinical / Hospital Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Quality Assurance, Pharmaceutical Management
View full profile »


Prof. Dr. Syed Atif Abbas

Deputy Dean (Academic Matters)

E-mail: syed.atif@qiup.edu.my

Area of Specialisation: Pharmacology
View full profile »


Assoc. Prof. Dr. Long Chiau Ming

Deputy Dean (Research, Postgraduate Studies, Strategic Linkages)

E-mail: chiauming.long@qiup.edu.my

Area of Specialisation: Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacy
View full profile »


Assoc. Prof. Dr. Vijay Kotra

Associate Professor

E-mail: vijay.kotra@qiup.edu.my
Area of Specialisation: Pharmaceutical Chemistry
View full profile »


Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mahibub Mahamadsa Kanakal

Head, Department of Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Technology Director, Centre for Pharmaceutical Product Development and Commercialization

E-mail: mahibub.kanakal@qiup.edu.my
Area of Specialisation: Pharmaceutics, Pharmaceutical Technology
View full profile »



Mr. Lean Yen Loong

Senior Lecturer

E-mail: yenloong.lean@qiup.edu.my
Area of Specialisation: Pharmaceutical analysis
View full profile »


Dr. Ayesha Fatima

Senior Lecturer

E-mail: ayesha.fatima@qiup.edu.my
Area of Specialisation: Biopharmaceutics
View full profile »


Mr. Khairulanwar bin Husain


E-mail: khairulanwar.husain@qiup.edu.my
Area of Specialisation: Clinical / Hospital Pharmacy
View full profile »



Ms. Noor Shahida binti Ajmi

Scientific Officer

E-mail: noor.shahida@qiup.edu.my
Area of Specialisation: Pharmaceutical Sciences
View full profile »



Ms. Priscilla Prithi A/P Mathulamuthu

Administrative Officer

E-mail: priscilla.prithi@qiup.edu.my
View full profile »


Prof. Dr. Natesan VijayalakshmiPhDMicrobiology and Immunology
Prof. Dr. Ranjith MehenderkarPhDMicrobiology and Immunology
Assoc. Prof.  Dr. Ashok GnanasekaranPhDMicrobiology and Immunology
Dr. Murugesan KarthikeyanPhDMicrobiology and Immunology
Prof. Dr. Sumitabha GhoshPhDMicrobiology and Immunology
Dr. Nasrin HabibMBBS, MPhil. M.P.HPhysiology
Dr. Ebrahim NKCPhDPhysiology
Dr. Jayaraj Kodangattil NarayananPhDPhysiology
Dr. Bedanta RoyPhDPhysiology
Prof. Dr. Shakila SrikumarMBBS, MDBiochemistry
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Abd. Rahman Md. SaidPhDBiochemistry
Dr. Poh Woon ChengPhDBiochemistry
Ms. Nurul Ainaa Adilah binti Rus BakarurrainiMaster of ScienceBiochemistry
Dr. Pradeep PalanisamyMBBS, MDAnatomy
Mr. Pugazhandhi BakthavatchalamM.Sc.Anatomy
Dr. Lubna ShirinMBBS, MPhilAnatomy
Prof. Dr. Lilli JacobMBBS, M.PHBiostatistics
Dr Myat Kalayar NyuntMBBS, MPHBiostatistics
Mr.  Shantha Kumar ChandrasekaranM.Sc.Biostatistics
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Aman Shah B. Abdul MajidMBBS, D.PhilPharmacology
Dr. Ong Khang WeiPhDPharmacology
Dr. Harizz Miszard RadmanMBBS, M.Sc.Pharmacology
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Yupa MinMBBS, M. Med Sci.Pathology
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Renju KurianMBBS, MDPathology

Scroll to Top